Sea Stacks and Sleestaks

by The Jade Shader

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $10 USD  or more




The Jade Shader formed in San Diego during 2003 while on a break from Terrin Durfey and Chris Prescott’s regular touring groups, Boilermaker and No Knife respectively. The band was formed as an excuse to just hang out make music for fun. After the first few shows, excitement around the band began to grow. Opening touring spots were offered and accepted from Jimmy Eat World, Pinback, the Life and Times and others. The Seattle-based Sonic Boom Recordings and Catune Records in Japan both released the first EP, entitled “Curse of the Tuatara”, which ended up winning San Diego Music Award for Best Local Recording. The lineup had changed over time, finally settling on Terrin Durfey (vocals, bass), Chris Prescott (guitar, keys, vocals), Matt Lynott (drums) and Gabriel Feenberg (keys, guitars). Eventually both Terrin and Chris were recruited to join the Pinback live band and toured extensively internationally during 2006 and 2007. Terrin had been battling cancer for 10 years and after a hopeful remission, his Melanoma returned with a vengeance. Sadly Terrin passed away in October of 2008. We had been nearly finished with our follow up full-length to the “Curse of the Tuatara” EP but due to Terrin’s illness all recording came to a stop. Fast forward years later, with the help of guest vocalists Rob Crow (Pinback) and Allen Epley (The Life and Times, Shiner) the album “Sea Stacks and Sleestaks” was finally completed in 2016 and released on Joyful Noise. Terrin is on every track in some form and sings on 8 of the 11 songs. It came out amazingly and I’m so proud to finally allow the birth of this album unto the world. All proceeds from any music sales go directly to Terrin’s son Dakota’s College Fund.


released July 1, 2017

The Jade Shader is
Terrin Durfey - Vocals, Bass
Chris Prescott - Guitar, Piano, Vocals
Matt Lynott - Drums
Gabriel Feenberg - Piano, Guitar

All songs by The Jade Shader except the following: ”Metamorphosis 1” by Philip Glass, “the Sky is a Sea” and “Secret Truths” by The Jade Shader and Allen Epley.

Guest Appearances:
Rob Crow - Vocals on “From Above”
Allen Epley - Vocals on “The Sky is a Sea” and “Secret Truths”
Adrienne Durfey - Piano on “City Walk”
Brian Desjean - Bass on “Dollar” and Baritone on “Secret Truths” and “Power of Suggestion”
Geoff Hill - Drums on “Dollar”
Chris Prescott - Drums on “City Walk”, “Power of Suggestion”, “Secret Truths” and “Slipped into a Shipwreck”

Recorded and Mixed by Chris Prescott in the Belly of the Whale
Mastered by Kris Poulin
Additional Engineering - Zach Smith
Insert Photo Credits: Chris Morrow, Danny de la Cruz, Sean Sloane, Aaron Regan, Frank Lee Drennen, Nick Haring, Steve Connor, Adrienne Durfey

Thanks to Patricia Kavanaugh, Frank Dixon, the Durfey Family



all rights reserved


The Jade Shader San Diego, California

San Diego-based group featuring members of Boilermaker, Pinback, No Knife, and White Buffalo. Members included: Terrin Durfey, Chris Prescott, Matt Lynott and Gabriel Feenberg. Active between 2003 and 2007. Sadly Terrin Durfey passed away in 2008, ending the band. The Jade Shader released "Curse of the Tuatara" (Sonic Boom Recordings) in 2003 and "Sea Stacks and Sleestaks"(Joyful Noise) in 2017 ... more

contact / help

Contact The Jade Shader

Streaming and
Download help